“The Earth is my Pantaloon”

This is a quote from one of the pieces of coursework I did for my GCSE Art.

It always bothered me that when creating artwork for school, we were told to constantly follow other artists. This was always something which was pushed heavily. Typically, you start off with multiple ideas, and when you create those you need to have already linked artists to each of your ideas, and as such, it always turned into everyone copying what the artist was doing. We were told to copy their styles, try and recreate their pieces of work, try and recreate our own work in their styles… We were copying artists so much that we never actually stopped to think about ourselves. What is your style? Why did you choose this idea over the others? Because we never thought of ourselves, none of the art pieces ever felt personal. Nothing was ever related to the artist who made the work, unlike the artists in which we had to copy from.

I realised this towards the end of Art GCSE, how none of the work was actually my own. Everything was a combination of other artists, and never once linked to my own personal preferences. “It’s not about how it looks, it’s about the techniques you use” was one of my favourites, since it is clear that any artist such as Van Gogh only cared about using lots of techniques, instead of creating art in which he found appealing. In case you didn’t catch that last bit, it was sarcasm. The Starry Night wasn’t created because he wanted to show how well he could use heavy brush strokes in his work, it was created as it was the way he saw the stars whenever he looked up at night.

My teacher told me not to put any text on my work, as it would draw away from the rest of it and ruin it. The piece was a man walking down an overgrown street in a dystopian wasteland, and I wanted a small amount of graffiti on the wall which simply said “The Earth is my Pantaloon”. A pantaloon was how Shakespeare used to refer an old man as, and not only that, but a crazed dying old man, which I thought would be a great way to describe the world during an apocalyptic time.

I was never a fan of that piece of work. My teacher made me use an ink pen to shade, and it took the original “lack of colour” idea of the area away. It took away what I was trying to portray, and as such this small piece of graffiti was the only way in which I could continue to capture this idea. Though, she advised me not to, I did it anyway, and I used watercolour to shade it in, allowing for the little amount of colour to help make it stand out. My teacher told me that because I did that, I went from a B to a C.

My teacher told me that because I did that, I went from a B to a C. The art teacher who taught the other class told me it was worth it.

I’m happy I did that, I don’t care about the grade. It was my art, not the examiners.

Thanks for reading

: : Ruby ❤ : :

Leave a Reply

